Sorry, you need to enable JavaScript to visit this website.

You are here

National Tobacco Control Programme

National Tobacco Control Program (NTCP)

  1. The pilot phase of NTCP was launched in 2007-08 in eighteen Districts covering nine States across the country during the period of 11th five year plan. 2008-09 the pilot programme was upscaled to cover 24 new Districts in 12 States including Odisha and funds were provided only for District Tobacco Control Programme. In the year 2013-14 the programme is being implemented in 42 Districts of 21 States in India through the NRHM PIP of NCD Flexi pool. Now NTCP is functioning in two Districts of Odisha namely Cuttack and Khurda.
  2. The Inspector of Police/ Drugs Inspectors/ Food Safety Officers have been notified as enforcement authority to implement the Cigarette and Other Tobacco Product Act (COTPA). 2003. State and district Level Co-ordination Committee has been constituted and notified.
  3. Challan and receipt mechanism for collection of fine for violation of COTPA -03 Laws is actively functioning and a separate Heads of Account has been opened for depositing the Fine amount so collected. So far fine amount to the tune of rupees 35, 23,830(April-10 upto March-2014) have been collected by both the Commissionerate Police� Bhubaneswar & Cuttack and Khurda.
  4. State Level Advocacy Workshop� on tobacco control was organised where the participants were different Stakeholders of the States and Districts.
  1. Integration of Tobacco control programme with State Aids Control Society (OSACS)/Non Communicable Disease Programme/Mental Health Programme/RNTCP(Revised National Tuberculossis Control Programme) for involvement of the� Councesollors was done.Around 200 Tobacco Cessation Councelling center is fuctional with help of Concellors who are providing the tobacco Cessation Counselling at the district and block level.
  2. District Tuberculosis Officers Under RNTCP Programme were trainned on tobacco control Programme for preventive aspect.
  3. Training of ADMO(PH)� ( District Nodal Officers for Tobacco Control Programme), on Tobacco Control was conducted in collaboration with IIPH, Bhubaneswar.
  1. The Govt. of Odisha has raised the tax from 12% to 25 % for tobacco and its product and from 0% to 10% for unmanufactured tobacco and tobacco used in manufacture of bidis with effect from 8.12.2011.
  2. Bhubaneswar was declared Smoke-free since October, 2010 and Jagatsinghpur, Bhadrak, Kalahandi district headquarters are in process of declaration� of smoke free. Compliance survey on implementation of COTPA has already been conducted by third party for four districts.
  3. All the RTOs, of Odisha have been instructed to prohibit direct/indirect and surrogate advertisement of Tobacco in public Transport system.
  4. Every year World No Tobacco day has been observed in State, District head quarters and block with generating proper awareness through rallies, street plays, mobile van, distribution of IEC materials viz. pamphlets, hand outs, posters, miking etc regarding anti tobacco among the masses.
  5. Different IEC Materials viz. posters, pamphlets, banners on ill effects of tobacco have been developed and disseminated to grass root levels in both the NTCP districts. Hoardings on ill effects of Tobacco and COTPA -03 Rules have been installed in crowded public places in NTCP Districts.
  6. Ban on sale ,storage and manufacture� of food items containing tobacco & Nicotine is effective since 3rd Jan 2013 in the state of Odisha
  7. In 2013-14 NTCP is functioning in Cuttack and Khurda Districts where District Tobacco Control Cell & District Tobacco Cessation Center are functioning.
  8. As per 12th five year plan document the National tobacco Control programme will� upscale to all the districts of Odisha in a phased manner from year 2014- 2017.
indiagov dialgov odisha gov in govt

Location Map

Contact us